Delta Air Lines Issues Statement on New U.S. Entry Restrictions in Africa Due to Covid

November 28, 2021

Delta Air Lines has issued the following statement regarding new travel restrictions for certain countries in Africa due to the new Covid variant 'Omicron' that has been reported to be detected:

In light of the detection of a new COVID-19 variant, the United States will suspend and restrict foreign nationals from entering the United States if they have been in South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Malawi and Eswatini during the 14-day period preceding their entry – effective for flights departing to the United States after 12:01 a.m. EST on Nov. 29.

Delta currently operates service between Johannesburg, South Africa and our Atlanta hub three times weekly. There are no planned adjustments to service at this time.

Customers traveling through Dec. 31, 2021 that may need to change their travel plans can do so without change fees via or the Fly Delta App. Learn more about change fees and travel flexibility on A fare difference waiver for customers booked through Dec. 12 is also available on

The health and safety of our employees and customers remains our top priority. Delta will continue to work closely with our government partners to monitor the new COVID-19 variant and any travel restrictions.

Source: Delta Airlines

Join the SkyGoFly Email Insiders Lounge

Join us to receive product updates and special offers from the SkyGoFly team....